top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Clarke

Learning, growth, and adventure.

Updated: May 30, 2023

I write this blog as I sit in the airport waiting to board my first of many flights home. Lots of feelings and thoughts running through my head. This blog will just be a quick summary of my last month on Gap Year. I will cover how we wrapped up ministry, share some fun stories of adventures, and explain how we have been preparing ourselves to return home. I hope to write another blog after a few weeks of adjustment at home just to talk about my thoughts with transition after Gap Year and to be able to share more personally and deeply what I have learned and experienced this year.


To begin, let's talk about ministry.

- As we ended our time here, we were able to see that one of our main parts of ministry was encouraging the current staff here with all God has taught us. By God's grace, we have not only been able to learn from their example, but also share unique tools that we have learned in ministry. We have lead trainings for them and enjoyed being in community with them. I know that the truths that we have been proclaimed will never fall wasted.

- Also, our continued ministry at the middle schools and high schools ended in such an encouraging way! Every week we have been able to prepare messages and I have really enjoyed growing my confidence and joy for speaking. Specifically in the last two weeks, we have built such sweet relationships with the students and we are so encouraged by their bold faith. Honestly I feel like I have learned more from them than they have from us. I am humbled by their deep trust in the Lord. By the way so many students expressed their deep gratitude at our presence, I am confident of the impact we made through Christ.

- We also experienced some time of initiative evangelism at a University campus. It was awesome to be able to openly speak to students about faith and meet people from all different backgrounds.

- Also another cool opportunity I had on Gap Year was to take the role of co-leader of the team for a week. Alondra and I walked in Kathryn and Mackenzie's shoes of leadership for a week. We shared roles of tracking transportation, meeting with director, writing the food plan, fiances, communication, and leading Bible study. It was an awesome opportunity to learn and grow and depend on the Lord. We are so thankful for everything our leaders have done for us this year!


----------> On to adventures!

God blessed our team with an unexpected trip to Zanzibar!!

Here are some wonderful photos of all we did! Boat trip, swimming in the Indian Ocean, a spice tour, walking through the beautiful streets, and shopping at the market.


Thennn, as if God hadn't already blessed me enough, the team completely surprised me with a trip to Kilimanjaro for my birthday!!

This trip was one of my favorite times in the whole Gap Year. God is too kind to keep on giving me unimaginable gifts. We were able to learn more about the culture, meet new friends, have interesting spiritual convos, learn to cook some cultural food, hike through the mountains to a crazy cool waterfall, enjoy the scenery, and swim. This whole trip I was overwhelmed with the knowledge of God's specific and personal love for me. The work of His hands is so beautiful and I am just so grateful.


Also during this last month of April, we have had some debrief times to help prepare us to transition home. Our wonderful director Jill joined us and led us in some fruitful discussions filled with thanksgiving, prayers for the future, and reflection times to process.

I have enjoyed every moment with the team. We celebrated Easter together and this month and we continued to strive for team fun and unity. I love them all dearly like family and I am so sad to leave their side.


Sadly, we also said goodbye to all of our Tanzanian friends this week and we are about to head out! We are so grateful for their generous hospitality and friendships. On to a new adventure. I am confident that not only will God stay behind us in every location we've touched and continue His mighty work, but also that He is always with us and He is already forging ahead to the beautiful places He has planned for each of us.


Personal prayer requests / praise reports:

- PRAISE GOD for the ways He has faithfully changed my heart this year. Pray that His praise would never leave my lips but that I would proclaim His faithfulness to the end of the age.

- Pray for rest and mental space to process and give thanks as I transition home. I know that this change back to American culture will be very hard for me so just pray for me to trust the Lord and depend on Him always.


Team prayer requests / praise reports:

- PRAISE for the amazing ways God has worked in each of our hearts so deeply to change our characters, mindsets, and rooting our identities in Him. This year has equipped each of us in different ways to be sent out to glorify Gods's name wherever He has each of us.

- Pray for safe travels as we all head home.

- Pray that the truths God has taught us this year would be deeply engraved on to our hearts, never to be removed by the devils lies.


Many more testimonies of God's great goodness to come... ;)

See ya soon America! Love you all deeply. I am so grateful for the support and encouragement I have received this year.


May Jesus Christ receive ALL the Glory, Honor, and Praise. AMEN!!

40 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page